One year on…

It was around this time last year that my current crop of eczema started to appear.

It was just a small patch on my right hand and after taking a homeopathic remedy it went away for a while, then it came back and after taking another dose of the same remedy it went away.  Over Christmas (2006) it came back and got worse from then on – read previous posts for full gory details (with pics!).  The remedies stopped working.

Since its almost been a year since then some more eczema has started to appear.  There are just a few ‘spots’ on my left arm, around the elbow, but on the outside of the arm.  It doesn’t really look like eczema yet as it hasn’t broken out completely, hopefully it won’t.  I’ve been using some E45 type cream on it twice a day to keep it from itching but haven’t used a steroid cream on it yet as I am trying a few homeopathic remedies first.

Why homeopathy?

I know the cortisone cream (Eumovate) I am still using on the patch on my hand will make it go away but it won’t cure it and I will have to use the cream forever as I am doing on my hand (about 10 months now).  As I would like to avoid this I am trying other methods first that are more likely to cure the eczema rather than push it back under the skin.

If the remedies don’t work I will reluctantly use some over the counter meds but I will see what happens…

Why this time of year?

It seems a bit of a co-incednce that more eczema has appeared around the same time as last year.

Is it the stress from Christmas?

Is it the change in weather? Its pretty cold here now after a mild autumn and run up to winter.

Is it an allergic reaction?  I’ve never associated my eczema with allergies but it could be the change from wearing t-shirts everyday to wearing long sleeved tops that has caused the skin on my arms react.  I don’t think it is personally.

I’ll be posting a bit more now as I have something eczema related to write about.

Feel free to post up any comments you think may be of use.

3 Responses to “One year on…”

  1. Evelyn Says:

    Hello,

    I have been an eczema sufferer myself but have healed my skin last year through a series of diet changes. I’ve tried homeopathy but I must say, I did not give it enough time to work. Homeopathy is not the only natural method available.

    It is also important to identify what your allergies are, especially if you are having atopic dermatitis (most often linked to allergies). It is true that in the winter months, changes in humidity and weather can also worsen the condition of dry skin.

    Understanding more about dry skin and how you can hydrate yourself from internally and externally helps. I share more about my eczema journey on my blog.

    Hope you are able to find the natural solution that has worked for you soon!

    All the best,
    Evelyn

  2. Ivan Says:

    Hi,

    Interesting to see a blog on eczema with progress picture 🙂

    Anyway, my wife has mild-severe eczema for about 10 years. The scratchings are mostly triggered by 2 things – she is mildly allergic to dust, and also the itch begins when she is stressed up.

    No satisfactory cure, yet, but hope is on the horizon. My wife use blue cap (contains dangerous substance! we throw it away), creams (with steroids, of course! :D), and later, natural treatment.

    The latter seems working well – My wife took omega 3 SeaQuill, and on her way for topical cream, NativeRemedies Skin-E cream.

  3. Shona Says:

    Hi
    In my experience as a homeopathic vet I discovered that homeopathy is most effective when obstacles to cure are also addressed. These include nutrition and attitude of mind – both passions of mine. My particular passion with food is puddings! and I love to play in the kitchen creating recipes that are sugar-free, dairy-free, wheat-free and delicious and fun! For some free recipes check out http://www.thehappygelateria.com, and all the best to all of you.
    love Shona x


Leave a comment